pafp turned death evergreen | attempted teaching

Jun 28, 2022

THIS WEIGHT ON MY NECK MAKES IT HARD TO CONNECT
Sloepaw had been nursing a headache, no doubt brought on by sleep deprivation, when Dewkit had asked for tips. An unexpected inquiry to be sure. The tom was used to remaining out of sight, out of mind- by design of course. Being a part of the backdrop made life simple, made for easier listening to any gossip and let him relax without worry. To be approached directly was not the norm.

An uneasy smile met his maw, uncertainty on how to proceed with such a young conversationist laid plain. "Well, I'm only learning myself so- not sure I'm the best role model." An unenthusiastic drawl, Sloepaw waited for his words to prompt the kit to waddle onto someone more interesting. When she didn't, his lids fell lower, hooded with an express weariness.

"Aight, okay well. Only thing I really know is prey scents so... if you really want?" Standing now, the apprentice slid a few paces towards the freshkill pile. Aware of the odd sight he found himself a part of, he lowered his ears in mild embarrassment. In the pile, there was a lanky pewter squirrel and stiff finch. Differentiating each unique bird species would be tricky with animals so long gone, but maybe he could pass on the distinction between fowl and mammal.

/please wait for @DEWKIT ! to respond first :))